
OUT OF STATE SUBPOENA PROCEDURE 
 
 
State Court Cases Venued Outside of Wisconsin 
 
Follow the instructions below to have a Wisconsin resident subpoenaed. 
 
References below to “circuit court judge” refer to the Chief Judge in Milwaukee 
County, or any circuit Court judge in the state of Wisconsin, most preferably one 
within the county in which the witness to be subpoenaed resides. 
 
1. Commission 
 
A commission must be issued by the out-of-state court of jurisdiction to the circuit 
court judge or Chief Judge (Milwaukee County).  Typically, the attorney taking 
the deposition petitions his or her court or judge to issue a commission to our 
judge in the county of the witness’s residence thereby empowering him or her to 
issue a subpoena for the witness’s appearance.  The document should state the 
parties, who they are, and that the witness is necessary for the case to proceed. 
 
 
 
2. Petition for Issuance of Subpoena 
 
This is a request for the circuit court judge or Chief Judge to issue a subpoena, 
authorized by the above commission.  The petition should contain reference to 
your state’s statutes regarding deposition testimony reciprocal with Wisconsin 
Statutes 887.24, 887.25 and 887.26.  An attachment of your state statute is 
required. 
 
 
3. Order for Issuance of Subpoena 
 
This is the document prepared by the petitioning attorney and presented to the 
circuit court judge or Chief Judge for his or her signature, thereby ordering the 
issuance of the subpoena.  Any additional request for production of records or 
duces tecum is to be included in the subpoena itself, not this document. 
 
 
 
4. Subpoena 
 
[s. 885.02(1)]  This is the actual subpoena, signed by the person requesting the 
deposition (usually the petitioning attorney), which is then presented to the 
process server for service on the witness.  This document may contain requests 
for records production or duces tecum [s 885.02(2)].  Use Wisconsin Circuit 
Court Form GF-126. 
 
 



5. Submit Subpoena 
 
Send all four documents (original plus two copies) to the circuit court judge’s 
office.  Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope for return of the 
signed copies. 
 
Milwaukee County 
 
Arrange for local counsel or a process server to deliver all four of the above 
documents (original plus two copies) along with a check made payable to the 
Milwaukee County Clerk of Courts in the amount of *$158.50 to room 104 at the 
Milwaukee County Courthouse.  At that point, a case file will be opened in 
Milwaukee County.  Counsel or process server will next be directed to the Chief 
Judge’s office, with the Circuit Court file, for the required signatures. 
 
 
6. Arrange Witness Payment 
 
After accomplishing the above steps, make out a check payable to the witness 
for $5.00 [regular depo, s. 814.67(1)(a)1] or $16.00 [video/evidentiary depo or 
court appearance, s. 814.67(1)(am)] plus .20/mile [s. 814.67(1)(c)] for the round 
trip for the witness to the deposition site or circuit court. 
 
Fees 
 
Milwaukee County has a case filing fee of $158.50.  Outlying counties may have 
lesser or no fees.  Check rates in the county where the witness resides. 
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