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WHERE TO APPLY 
 

Apply for a marriage license at the office of the Milwaukee County Clerk, Room 105, 
Courthouse, 901 North 9th Street, Milwaukee.  Marriage license applications are accepted 
Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.   
 

WHEN TO APPLY 
 
A wedding date must be set prior to application.  The bride and groom must apply 
together, at least eight (8) days, but not more than thirty (30) days before the wedding 
date.  The license is effective for 30 days upon the issuance date. 
 

MINIMUM AGE TO MARRY 
 

The minimum age to marry is eighteen (18) years of age.  Applicants that are 16 or 17 
years of age must have parent’s consent (both mother and father) or legal guardian’s 
consent.  Consent forms must be properly filled out and notarized.  These forms are 
available in the Office of the County Clerk. 
 

PERSONS WHO MAY NOT MARRY 
 

No marriage shall be contracted between persons who are nearer of kin than second 
cousins; except that marriage may be contracted between first cousins where the female 
has attained the age of 55 years or either party has documented proof of sterilization. 
 
 
 
 
 



                               FEE 
 
The marriage license fee is $100.00 CASH ONLY, payable at the time of filing an 
application.  NO REFUNDS. 
 
 

NOTE: 
 

Any legal/certified document not in the English language must have attached to it a 
certified and/or notarized translation.  Both the bride and groom must speak and be able 
to read English.  If not, it is up to the bride and groom to provide a translator. 
 
       
 

REQUIREMENTS 
 

Both the bride and groom must apply together.  Each person must bring in a certified 
copy of his or her birth certificate (no hospital certificates or registration forms).  The 
bride or groom must show proof of residency (must have current address) in Milwaukee 
County for at least 30 days (does not apply to out-of-state residents.) 
 
If either the bride or groom has had a previous marriage, a filed copy of the final 
judgment of divorce, legal annulment or certified death certificate must be shown at the 
time of application.  Wisconsin statutes make it unlawful for any person to marry again 
until six (6) months from the date of the granting of a judgment of divorce, 
REGARDLESS OF WHERE THE DIVORCE WAS GRANTED.  You cannot apply 
for a marriage license until the six months have elapsed. 
 
Both the bride and groom must bring in Social Security cards.  The name on your Social 
Security card must be your legal name, with any legal suffixes (Jr., II, etc.). 
 
Also, you must supply the full name, address, and phone number of the officiant 
performing the wedding ceremony. 
 
Residents of Wisconsin must apply before the County Clerk of the County in which 
either the bride or the groom is the resident.  The license issued in that County may be 
used anywhere in the State of Wisconsin.  Non-residents (both out-of-state) must apply in 
the County in which they are to be married – the license issued would not be effective 
outside of that County. 
 

Failure to meet these requirements will delay the issuance of your license. 
ANY QUESTIONS? 

 
For clarification of any information provided, call (414)-278-4067. 



INTERESTED IN A COURTHOUSE 
WEDDING? 

 
 
Civil ceremonies are performed by the Court Commissioner, Monday through Friday, by 
appointment only.  The fee for civil ceremonies is $100.00 (cash only) payable on the 
day of your wedding. 

 
To schedule an appointment, call (414)-278-5100. 

 
A list of judges and court commissioners who perform wedding ceremonies at locations 
other than the Courthouse is available at the office of the County Clerk, Room 105 – 
Courthouse. 
 
       

 


